5 Seconds of Fame

Last night, I performed at the Punchline Comedy Club in San Francisco.  Well, Ali Wong and six other comedians performed, but I did get some stage time.  You see, AFTER the show (you know how they always like to save the best for last), me and  Chris Garcia were chosen to model her new FTC sponsored T-shirts (printed on American Apparel tees, made in the USA, good.) designed by our very own mechanic seamstress with the mostess:

At first I was embarrassed and refused to go up on stage because I felt like I was bamboozled.  I know Ali Wong and she did not “accidentally” bring over her new t-shirt to my house the day before and “accidentally” tell me to wear it to her show.   And I was not “accidentally” the only person in the comedy club wearing the girl version, with Chris being the only one wearing the boy version.  But I’m just speculating.  I finally agreed, then got a little too into it, started mimicking Ali’s  Old-Chinese-Lady-in-Golden-Gate-Park Tai Chi bend and arm swings, and maybe a got little too into it.  Luckily people laughed with/at me so it all worked out. And that was my five seconds of fame.

What many people may not know, is that I actually taught Ali all the Tai Chi all the moves she knows. All the talk of Flamin’ Hot Cheetos and the bird bath jokes though, I don’t even want to know where she got those from.=l

~ by chuionthis on July 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
